University of Calcutta


Centre for TeleInFrastruktur (CTIF) - India

On December 7, 2007, a Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) was signed between the Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics, University of Calcutta, India and Center for TeleInFrastuktur, CTIF, University of Aalborg, Denmark, in the area of Wireless Communication Technology. The occasion saw the launching of Center for TeleInFrastuktur (India), or CTIF-India. Besides the parent body, this is the second CTIF established after the CTIF (Italy) in the University of Rome. Erasmus Mundus Program with Aalborg and Other Universities Erasmus Mundus, (External Cooperation Window, Lot 11, Asia Regional) is a  program to promote the exchange of students, scholars and faculty between partner universities of Europe and Asia. Funded and supported by the European Commission,, the program is designed to fund exchanges between 8 European Partner Universities and 11 Asian universities. The list of universities is as follows: 

    European Universities: Denmark: Aalborg University (AAU), Germany: Flensburg University (FU), Netherlands: Delft University of Technology (DUT), Italy: University of Rome "Tor Vergata" (URTV) , Greece: National Technical University of Athens (NTUA), Croatia: University of Zagreb (UZ), Portugal: University of Aveiro (UA), Spain: University of Malaga (UMA)
Asian Universities: Bangladesh: Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET), Bangladesh: Asian University for Women, Chittagong (AuW), Bangladesh: Chittagong University, Chittagong (CU), Bhutan: Royal University of Bhutan (RUB), Nepal: Inst. of Eng., Tribhuvan University (TU), Pakistan: Mehran University of Technology (MUET), Afghanistan: Kabul University (KU), India: University of Calcutta (UC), India: Sinhgad Institute of Technology (SIT), Indonesia: Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB), Thailand: Mae Fah Luang University (MAFU).
 The main goal of the mobility for life is the cross-fertilization and the exchange of teaching and research experience that can become an extended platform for cooperation between Asia and Europe in the future.
There were several thematic groups within this Erasmus Mundus program, and the particular group related to the Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics is “Telecommunications and wireless technologies” Applications were invited from students and faculties in December 2009-January 2010 window, and several students and faculty members submitted their applications. The final results are awaited.